ichthyocentaurs: (shadow hearts)
This is so rambly lol I should be sleeping instead of writing........

Between the trailer for Death Stranding 2 dropping a few weeks ago (it looks amazing) and seeing a ton of buzz around the second part of FF7 remake coming out I am really, definitely wishing I had a PS5 lmao. But that's not happening anytime soon so I'm definitely going to be avoiding a ton of places cause I don't want to be spoiled on FF stuff. Man it's killing me...

I'm super behind on games anyway. I took a good long time to play Like a Dragon Gaiden Forget Name Guy or whatever (everyone has made these jokes but it is a funny name) and I have no regrets cause I played it about as much as you could! without beating Amon I am bad at gaming haha. It was an interesting direction for the series, to make a specifically shorter and tighter game more akin to the original couple of releases, and the story was... good for what it is but I also kinda think it was unnecessary. Letting a character go is just impossible for big franchises, I know, but I wish they'd managed it in this case as such a long time fan. Kazuma's been sorta killed so many times lmao. The (infamous? I guess it hasn't been around long enough for that) ending kind of... used that idea to its advantage at least. Also Shishido is a great character I won't directly spoil things but he was a standout. Really like him.

So now I'm onto Dragon Quest Monsters The Dark Prince and as someone who is going through their #dragonquestpilled era it's a great time. I wish Squeenix would stop relegating these side games to the switch, because it feels like they're... well it's like, confusing. The last main entry, 11, seemed like it finally was getting some legs under it over here, and they sort of waste it by the next few releases being. Well, they're not games for kids, but they absolutely have a family friendly vibe, which to most people means, for kids. But there's kind of another games that dominate the kid's jrpg space, can't remember what it was called. Lmao. The confusion arises from the next main entry, 12, supposedly going to be a more "mature" take on DQ... a game we've literally seen nothing from since it was announced, except that the writer said he was having a hard time doing that.

(This is absurd too like I don't have to go through all the dark events of DQ, just for example from the one I just finished, 5, as a kid your father is murdered right in front of you, and it's pretty brutal! And a lot of people like that the games cover decently serious topics without getting super emo about it. Can't help being Squeenix!)

Since I wrote this part reviews for FF7R-2 have been coming out and I've been strictly avoiding them but goddamn. When even the title of your review is like, yeah this is GOTY no question it's like, god. I'll be treading very carefully around the internet for a while it seems. Well I'll be sure to enjoy it in a year plus!!

At least I can play Infinite Wealth, the other thing I'm kinda dying to play. I've managed to remain relatively unspoiled (and I always stop watching trailers for stuff I'm really excited about) so I haven't seen almost anything of the game for like... a year or whatever, since the initial one pretty much. I just love knowing as little as possible, I want to be surprised by like, gameplay as much as story, you know?

After that, it'll be Unicorn Overlord. And after THAT will be Eiyuden Chronicles. Like goddamn I'm going to be playing new games for half the year at this point, which isn't bad since at least I'm doing my best to not buy stuff I won't have time for or like... "need" to play yeah need I'm a gamer.
ichthyocentaurs: (okamiii)
Man I'm tired, and with no one to blame but myself. Usually I have a break between foster kittens but I got some new ones back to back and so I still have to stay up late to feed them... then on top of it yesterday I was hit with the Planet Zoo Mania and just one more exhibit edit-ed myself awake until 2. Today I am swearing to not do that, I already wore out my PZ brain, not to mention my regular brain.

It's already FF16 time, huh?? It's weird lol. My only hope is that I won't get spoiled for too much, because no PS5, boo hoo hoo (I'm ok with this). I managed to avoid FF15 so I'm coming in with a good record, I guess. Come to think of it, for a FF fan I've never gotten a (mainstream, non re-release) FF game at launch LOL. I'm glad people seem to like it, but I'm already tired of the "I don't play those stupid FF games because they're boring, but THIS one is action so it's the best one" like... yeah I get it people who like turn based and story driven games already know this. We're already in the minority when it comes to pretty much every other popular game around, so please accept more gracefully.

In my opinion, there's nothing better than story and turn bases this is a terrible transition into talking about Suikoden V, which I'm just about finished with and have pretty much loved. Despite trying to like it 4 really was disappointing, but they pulled it together for this one. It doesn't top 3 or 2 but 5 comes right on their heels. One of the biggest problems is that recruitment is too damn hard; thankfully I've accepted heavy guide use in Suikoden.

Now I wonder how Eiyuden Chronicle will be in that respect; I can see them having no missable characters because modern gamers might not tolerate missable content very well (thinking of all the people who have choice paralysis in Persona) but to please the older Suikoden players maybe there will be...? And what about stuff like timed choices or (infamous scene in Suikoden 2) having to play the game when you think you can't? Thinking about it now I might wait to play it until someone's written a guide hahah. God when the fuck is the suikoden 1 and 2 remaster coming out it's officially not spring anymore konami still sucking squad!!!!

Anyway, I better finish Suikoden 5 because I'm getting weird like, I need to finish a game now or I'm gonna die feeling. Too many things running parallel for too long, and all started at about the same time, with this and Okamiden and Zanki Zero all going. And then Rain Code's coming out in about a week... damn.

At least I'm doing ok in other stuff. I finished watching all the Godzillas (note to write about this and defend anime trilogy with all my might) and am now watching 'zilla-adjacent movies which are mostly terrible so far. How are people rating Mysterions above the anime movie. Or Varan honestly that shit sucked. Godzilla fans are so lamebrained. T__T I need to watch more movies but the Suikoden 5 draw is too real. I'm actually almost done with my book nook. I've made 3 stepping stones and have found that concrete is actually pretty fun to mess with. I have literally too many crafts right now but whatever it's all good. I need to finish my current book so I can move on to library stuff (and I don't like it much). I wish I had a million hours in a day~
ichthyocentaurs: (chocobo)
Since a lot of new stuff about FFXVI has been released I am inevitably opinionated but I feel better about it than I have before so hopefully the fanwank is..... you know less lmao.

Read more... )

Profile

ichthyocentaurs: (Default)
ichthyocentaurs

February 2024

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
1819202122 2324
2526272829  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 11:59 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios