ichthyocentaurs: (jet set)
[personal profile] ichthyocentaurs
In preparation for this post I tried to use an old (not THAT old) bottle of tacky glue and it was gunky so I opened it and like, the whole of it was full of The Stuff and so obviously I played with it and then realized how dumb it was because I couldn't just throw it in the trash so I had to like, shove it back into the container and my hands smelled really weird and gluey and still do after multiple washes. Not recommended. It was like I bought slime off a guy selling them out of his jacket.

The last time I wrote one of these I didn't expect to do another tbh but it actually helped me organize my brain about what I'm working on so like, I'm doing it again.

Done:
Book nook: I finished this! I'm happy enough with it, for my first total diy model thing I think it's decent. I'm not a perfectionist or anything.

Pre-printed DIY model I mentioned in last post: I bought one and made it. Then I bought another but I'm saving it for the next time I'm craving model making. It's fun to take slow. But really I want to make my own things cause no kits like this align with the kind of stuff I like the most.

Felting: Did a felting kit, made a tanuki!!!! Cute!!!! I don't think I'm going to add felting to my common activities but I had a good time and will probably get another kit someday.

Ornament kit: A weird thing I found while getting other crafting supplies, I was overcome by sparkling things and uh... I thought it was more like sewing beads, which I've sort of become interested in, but it was more like, put beads onto a pin and stab it into this foam form. Unexpectedly entertaining, and very quick. Would do this again.

Cat clown: I bought a cute old pattern for a cat clown doll and finally actually made it, and it only took like, 3 sessions of a few hours of work. As much as I hate to admit it, machine sewing is fast. Who invented this thing?? It's crazy!! I haven't used the machine much, and never on something with an (eventual) 3D form, so it was an accomplishment. Plus it came out super cute. (Short story related to this: I went out to buy eyelet trim for the clown neck frill thing, and the fabric counter lady small talked, "what are you getting this for?" and when I said a clown doll, she like, stopped smiling and didn't talk for the rest of the interaction. I don't think she's a fan.)

Ongoing:
Stepstones: It's funny I was just starting this when I wrote in June, because now I've done like, 20 LOL. Concrete is still scary to work with, but it's pretty fun and surprisingly quick. Mosaic-lite-esque, though I still want to get into actual mosaic too; that's a little more involved. I want to make these until I run out of my big bag of cement, which hopefully will correspond to the weather getting colder and I can start staying out in the garage and revert back to doing stained glass.

Crossstich: This one is killing me. Overall I like it, but it's taken me so, so long to do like, a 15"x15" piece. The book I have has pretty complicated designs where every image has a million colors, but I think the biggest issue (not real issue) is that I have a lot of hobbies and this requires more dedication than I thought. Maybe the real issue is that I shouldn't feel frustrated it's taking so long when there's no time limit?

Pompoms: This might be a little more done than ongoing, but I got a cool book on making patterned pompoms and it's really fun and opened my brain to the possibilities of pompomery. However I don't know anything to actually do with them other than look at them like so: :). I'd like to kinda figure out a Thing to do with them.

Papier mache: I'm almost done with my sarcophagus trash can, it's really stupid and I love it. Drew a lot of very tiny hieroglyphics. I just need to decide if I seal it (the paint I used for everything that's black has this bad trait where it kinda like, has dust on the top after drying and so it will slightly smudge if modge podged over, and I used a LOT of black) and glue on the hinges.

Sewing clothes psycho style: Overcome with the knowledge that eventually I will be cold, I decided to make a padded house jacket for the winter, cause I hate wearing regular hoodies and stuff for whatever reason. Everything's cut, I just need to sew it together and then I'm going to hand quilt it. I can tell I'll regret quilting while it's hot out but I'm like, totally preparing for winter here. Squirrel style.

Future ideaing:
Various little painting projects. Kitbash my eva horse, finally < do this one. Make something papier mache that's more like, unique and 3D (a traditional bobblehead?). Little basket weave kit I found. Omg will I ever emboss anything. Junk journal. Dog costume book lol. Make some of the other clothes I bought patterns for, duh. Quilt, though doing the jacket will at least quench that desire for a little while I think. Repair wool blanket.

Date: 2023-09-04 05:24 pm (UTC)
lassarina: (Default)
From: [personal profile] lassarina
I struggle with cross stitch taking so long also. Good luck with it!

Date: 2023-09-06 11:22 pm (UTC)
lassarina: (Default)
From: [personal profile] lassarina
I find it a little frustrating because I can't watch anything/listen to anything without losing count, but I love the results so much. Difficult!

Profile

ichthyocentaurs: (Default)
ichthyocentaurs

February 2024

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
1819202122 2324
2526272829  

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 08:54 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios